Editors of the European History Web Portal

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Metzler

Gabriele Metzler

Gabriele Metzler is the spokesperson of the European History Web Portal. At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, she is currently Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and has been Professor of the History of Western Europe and Transatlantic Relations since 2007. For the web portal, she is in charge of the section Science and Education.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Martin Baumeister

Martin Baumeister

From 2003 to 2012, Martin Baumeister held the Chair of 19th and 20th Century European History at Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich. Since 2012, he is Director of the German Historical Institute (DHI) in Rome. Martin Baumeister's research interests include Italian, Spanish and German history of the 19th and 20th centuries, the history of popular culture and theatre, and the history of religion. For the web portal, Martin Baumeister is in charge of the section Images of Self and Other.

 

Prof. Dr. Ewald Frie

Ewald Frie

Since 2008, Ewald Frie has been researching and teaching as Professor of Modern History at Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen. Frie has been a full member of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 2019. Ewald Frie is in charge of the section History of Religion for the European History Web Portal.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Madeleine Herren-Oesch

Madeleine Herren-Oesch

Madeleine Herren-Oesch was Professor of Modern History at the University of Heidelberg from 2004 to 2013. Since 2013, she holds the position of Professor of Modern General History at the Europainstitut of the University of Basel. Madeleine Herren-Oesch is in charge of the section War and Peace, Violence (International Relations).

 

 

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Hohls

Rüdiger Hohls

Rüdiger Hohls heads the Department of Historical Informatics at Humboldt University Berlin and has been Honorary Professor of Academic Communication and Historical Informatics at the University of Leipzig since 2013. He was the co-founder, head of project and member of the editorial team of the communication platform H-Soz-Kult for many years. For the thematic portal European History, Rüdiger Hohls heads the editorial team and is in charge of the section Institutionalising Europe.

 

Prof. Dr. Konrad Jarausch

Konrad Jarausch

From 1998 to 2006, Konrad Jarausch was Director of the Centre for Contemporary History Research in Berlin. He has been Professor of European Civilization at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill since 1983. He researches and publishes on European and German (social) history. His most recent focus has been on the history of Germany in the 20th century. For the web portal, Konrad Jarausch is in charge of the section Remembrance Culture, Politics of History.

 

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Kaelble

Hartmut Kaelble

Hartmut Kaelble was Professor of Economic and Social History at the Freie Universität Berlin from 1971-1991. He then taught and researched at the Humboldt University in Berlin as Professor of Social History. He received numerous awards in France and taught as a visiting professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, among others. Together with Hannes Siegrist, Hartmut Kaelble oversees the section European Societies and with Hannes Siegrist and Maren Möhring the section European Cultures.

 

Prof. Dr. Claudia Kraft

Claudia Kraft

Claudia Kraft was Professor of European Contemporary History at the University of Siegen from 2011 to 2018. Since 2018, she holds the Chair of Contemporary, Cultural, Knowledge and Gender History at the University of Vienna. Her research interests include comparative European contemporary history, the history of state socialism in Central and Eastern Europe and gender history. For the web portal, Claudia Kraft is in charge of the section Body and Gender, among others.

 

Prof. Dr. Matthias Middell

Matthias Middell

Matthias Middell is Professor of Cultural History and Director of the Global and European Studies Institute at the University of Leipzig as well as spokesperson for the SFB 1199 and the Leipzig Research Centre Global Dynamics. For the web portal European History, he heads the sections Europe in the World and Spatialisation Processes.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Maren Möhring

Maren Möhring

Maren Möhring has been Professor of Comparative Cultural and Social History of Modern Europe at the University of Leipzig since 2014. Her research focuses include migration and gender history as well as the history of mass cultures. She heads the sections Body and Gender and European Cultures.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Alexander Nützenadel

Alexander Nützenadel

Alexander Nützenadel has been Professor of Economic and Social History at Humboldt University in Berlin since 2009. His research focuses, among other topics, on the history of financial regulation and banks. He heads the section Economy, Labour(Environment, Technology).

 

 

Prof. Dr. Louis Pahlow

Louis Pahlow

Louis Pahlow has held the Chair of Modern and Contemporary Legal History, Civil Law and Intellectual Property Law at the Goethe University Frankfurt a. M. since 2012. He is, inter alia, a member of the academic advisory board of the Gesellschaft für Unternehmensgeschichte e.V. As co-editor of the web portal European History, he heads the section law.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Kiran Klaus Patel

Kiran Klaus Patel

From 2011 to 2019, Kiran Klaus Patel was Professor of European and Global History at Maastricht University. Since 2019, he is Professor of 19th and 20th Century European History at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich and founding director of Projekthaus Europa. Among other things, he is in charge of the section Institutionalising Europe.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Iris Schröder

Iris Schröder

Since 2013, Iris Schröder holds the position of Professor of Global History at the University of Erfurt and Director of the Forschungskolleg Transkulturelle Studien / Perthes Collection in Gotha. As editor of the web portal, she is in charge of the section Science and Education.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Alexander Schunka

Alexander Schunka

Alexander Schunka is Professor of Early Modern History from a European Perspective at the Friedrich Meinecke Institute of Freie Universität Berlin since 2015. His research interests include historical migration and mobility studies as well as the history of religion in the early modern period. As editor of the web portal, he is in charge of th esection History of Religion.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Hannes Siegrist

Hannes Siegrist

Hannes Siegrist researched and taught as Professor of Cultural History/European Modernism at the University of Leipzig from 1997 to 2013. He has also been a full member of the Saxon Academy of Sciences in Leipzig since 2007. For the thematic portal, Hannes Siegrist is responsible for the section social history. From 2005 to 2021, Hannes Siegrist was the spokesperson for the European History Web Portal.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Dirk van Laak

Dirk van Laak

From 2007 to 2016, Dirk van Laak was Professor of Contemporary History in Gießen. He then moved to the University of Leipzig, where he researches and teaches as a professor of 19th to 21st century history. His research focuses on German and European history, the history of globalisation, of intellectuals and infrastructure, the history of literature and historiography. For the web portal European History, he is in charge of the section Economy, Labour (Environment, Technology), among others..

 

Prof. Dr. Jakob Vogel

Jakob Vogel

Jakob Vogel has been Director of the Centre Marc Bloch since September 2018 and Honorary Professor at Humboldt University Berlin since 2020. Previously, he was a professor at Sciences Po University in Paris (since 2011). In his publications and research, he has helped shape the field of "knowledge history". In addition, his research focuses on modern European history and European colonialism. For the web portal European History, Jakob Vogel heads the section Images of Self and Others.

 

Prof. Dr. Claudia Weber

Claudia Weber

Claudia Weber is Professor of Contemporary European History at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) since 2014. Her research interests include the ambivalences of Europeanisation, the cultural history of imperial rule and the history of violence and dictatorship in the 20th century. For the web portal, Claudia Weber heads the section Dictatorship and Democracy.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Michael Wildt

Michael Wildt

Michael Wildt was Professor of German History in the 20th Century with a focus on the history of National Socialism at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin from 2009 to 2022. From 2014 to 2022, he was chairman of the nonprofit organisation Clio-online e.V., the legal and organisational representative of the web portal. He is also co-editor of the academic journals WerkstattGeschichte and Historische Anthropolgie. For the web portal, he is in charge of the section War and Peace.

 

Group of Managing Editors

The group of managing editors of the web portal includes the following editors::

  • Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Hohls
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Metzler (Speaker)
  • Prof. Dr. Maren Möhring
  • Prof. Dr. Louis Pahlow
  • Prof. Dr. Iris Schröder

Former Editors of the European History Web Portal

Prof. Dr. Stefan Troebst

Stefan Troebst

Stefan Troebst was Professor of Cultural History of Eastern Europe at the University of Leipzig and Head of the Master's Programme European Studies at the Global and European Studies Institute until 2021. From 1999 to 2021 he was also deputy director of the Leibniz Institute for the History and Culture of Eastern Europe (GWZO). At the web portal European History, he was in charge of the section Memory Cultures in Europe.

HerausgeberInnen des Themenportals Europäische Geschichte

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Metzler

Gabriele Metzler

Gabriele Metzler ist die Sprecherin des Themenportals Europäische Geschichte. An der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin ist sie aktuell Dekanin der Philosophischen Fakultät und seit 2007 Professorin für die Geschichte Westeuropas und der transatlantischen Beziehungen. Für das Themenportal betreut sie die Rubrik Wissenschaft und Bildung.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Martin Baumeister

Martin Baumeister

Zwischen 2003 und 2012 war Martin Baumeister Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Europäische Geschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Seit 2012 ist er Direktor des Deutschen Historischen Instituts (DHI) in Rom. Zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten Von Martin Baumeister zählen die italienische, spanische und deutsche Geschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, die Geschichte der populären Kultur und des Theaters sowie die Religionsgeschichte. Für das Themenportal betreut Martin Baumeister u.a. die Rubrik Selbst- und Fremdbilder.

 

Prof. Dr. Ewald Frie

Ewald Frie

Seit 2008 forscht und lehrt Ewald Frie als Professor für Neuere Geschichte an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen. Seit 2019 ist Frie ordentliches Mitglied der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften. Ewald Frie betreut die Rubrik Religionsgeschichte für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Madeleine Herren-Oesch

Madeleine Herren-Oesch

Madeleine Herren-Oesch war von 2004 bis 2013 Professorin für Neuere Geschichte an der Universität Heidelberg. Seit 2013 leitet sie als Professorin für Neuere Allgemeine Geschichte das Europainstitut der Universität Basel. Für das Themenportal betreut Madeleine Herren-Oesch die Rubrik Krieg und Frieden, Gewalt (Internationale Beziehungen).

 

 

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Hohls

Rüdiger Hohls

Rüdiger Hohls leitet den Bereich der Historischen Fachinformatik an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin und ist seit 2013 Honorarprofessor für Wissenschaftliche Kommunikation und Historische Fachinformatik an der Universität Leipzig. Seit vielen Jahren ist er Herausgeber der Kommunikationsplattform H-Soz-Kult. Für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte leitet Rüdiger Hohls die Redaktion und betreut Rüdiger Hohls die Rubrik Institutionalisierung Europa.

 

Prof. Dr. Konrad Jarausch

Konrad Jarausch

Von 1998 bis 2006 war Konrad Jarausch Direktor des Zentrums für Zeithistorische Forschung in Berlin. Bereits seit 1983 ist er Professor für European Civilization an der University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Er forscht und publiziert zu der Europäischen und Deutschen (Sozial-)Geschichte. Ein Fokus lag dabei zuletzt in der Geschichte Deutschlands des 20. Jahrhunderts. Für das Themenportal betreut Konrad Jarausch die Rubrik Erinnerungskultur, Geschichtspolitik.

 

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Kaelble

Hartmut Kaelble

Hartmut Kaelble war von 1971-1991 Professor für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin. Anschließend lehrte und forschte er an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin als Professor für Sozialgeschichte. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen in Frankreich und lehrte als Gastprofessor unter anderem an der École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales. Gemeinsam mit Hannes Siegrist betreut Hartmut Kaelble die Rubrik Europäische Gesellschaften und mit Hannes Siegrist und Maren Möhring den Bereich Europäische Kulturen.

 

Prof. Dr. Claudia Kraft

Claudia Kraft

Claudia Kraft war von 2011 bis 2018 Professorin für Europäische Zeitgeschichte an der Universität Siegen. Seit 2018 ist sie Lehrstuhlinhaberin für Zeit-, Kultur-, Wissens- und Geschlechtergeschichte an der Universität in Wien. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen unter anderem auf der vergleichenden europäischen Zeitgeschichte, der Geschichte des Staatssozialismus in Mittel- und Osteuropa und der Geschlechtergeschichte. Für das Themenportal betreut Claudia Kraft u.a. die Rubrik Körper und Geschlecht.

 

Prof. Dr. Matthias Middell

Matthias Middell

Matthias Middell ist Professor für Kulturgeschichte und Direktor des Global and European Studies Institute an der Universität Leipzig sowie Sprecher des SFB 1199 und des Leipzig Research Centre Global Dynamics. Für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte leitet er die Rubriken Europa in der Welt und Verräumlichungsprozesse.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Maren Möhring

Maren Möhring

Maren Möhring ist seit 2014 Professorin für Vergleichende Kultur- und Gesellschaftsgeschichte des modernen Europas an der Universität Leipzig. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen unter anderem in der Migrations- und Geschlechtergeschichte sowie der Geschichte der Massenkulturen. Sie leitet für das Themenportal die Rubriken Körper und Geschlecht und Europäische Kulturen.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Alexander Nützenadel

Alexander Nützenadel

Alexander Nützenadel ist seit 2009 Professor für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität in Berlin. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt unter anderem auf der Geschichte der Finanzregulierung und der Banken. Er leitete die Rubrik Wirtschaft, Arbeit (Umwelt, Technik) für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Louis Pahlow

Louis Pahlow

Seit 2012 hat Louis Pahlow den Lehrstuhl für Neuere und Neste Rechtsgeschichte, Zivilrecht und Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a. M. inne. Unter anderem ist er Mitglied im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat der Gesellschaft für Unternehmensgeschichte e.V. Als Mitherausgeber des Themenportals Europäische Geschichte leitet er die Rubrik Rechtsgeschichte.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Kiran Klaus Patel

Kiran Klaus Patel

Von 2011-2019 war Kiran Klaus Patel Professor für europäische und globale Geschichte an der Maastricht Universität. Seit 2019 ist er Professor für Europäische Geschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und Gründungsdirektor des Projekthaus Europa. Er betreut für das Themenportal u.a. die Rubrik Institutionalisierung Europa.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Iris Schröder

Iris Schröder

Iris Schröder ist seit 2013 Professorin für Globalgeschichte des 19. Jahrhunderts an der Universität Erfurt und Direktorin des Forschungskolleg Transkulturelle Studien / Sammlung Perthes in Gotha. Als Herausgeberin des Themenportals betreut sie die Rubrik Wissenschaft und Bildung.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Alexander Schunka

Alexander Schunka

Alexander Schunka ist seit 2015 Professor für die Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit aus europäischer Perspektive am Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen unter anderem in der historischen Migrations- und Mobilitätsforschung sowie der Religionsgeschichte der frühen Neuzeit. Als Herausgeber des Themenportals betreut er die Rubrik Religionsgeschichte.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Hannes Siegrist

Hannes Siegrist

Hannes Siegrist forschte und lehrte als Professor für Kulturgeschichte/Europäische Moderne von 1997 bis 2013 an der Universität Leipzig. Seit 2007 ist er zudem ordentliches Mitglied der Sächsischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Leipzig. Für das Themenportal verantwortet Hannes Siegrist die Rubrik Gesellschafts- und Sozialgeschichte.Zwischen 2005 und 2021 war Hannes Siegrist Sprecher des Themenportals Europäische Geschichte.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Dirk van Laak

Dirk van Laak

Von 2007 bis 2016 war Dirk van Laak Professor für Zeitgeschichte in Gießen. Anschließend wechselte er an die Universität Leipzig, wo er als Professor für die Geschichte des 19. bis 21. Jahrhunderts forscht und lehrt. Seine Schwerpunkte in der Forschung sind die deutsche, europäische und Globalisierungsgeschichte, Intellektuellen- und Infrastrukturgeschichte, Geschichte der Literatur und der Geschichtsschreibung. Für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte betreut er u.a. die Rubrik Wirtschaft, Arbeit (Umwelt, Technik).

 

Prof. Dr. Jakob Vogel

Jakob Vogel

Jakob Vogel ist seit September 2018 Direktor des Centre Marc Bloch und seit 2020 Honorarprofessor der Humboldt Universität Berlin. Zuvor war er seit 2011 Professor an der Universität Sciences Po in Paris. In seinen Publikationen und seiner Forschung hat er das Feld der „Wissensgeschichte“ mitgeprägt. Darüber hinaus liegen seine Forschungsschwerpunkte auf der Europäischen Geschichte der Neuzeit und des europäischen Kolonialismus. Für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte leitet Jakob Vogel die Rubrik Fremd- und Selbstbilder.

 

Prof. Dr. Claudia Weber

Claudia Weber

Seit 2014 ist Claudia Weber Professorin für Europäische Zeitgeschichte an der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder). Sie forscht unter anderem zu den Ambivalenzen der Europäisierung, der Kulturgeschichte imperialer Herrschaft und der Gewalt- und Diktaturgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Für das Themenportal leitet Claudia Weber die Rubrik Diktatur und Demokratie.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Michael Wildt

Michael Wildt

Michael Wildt ist seit 2009 Professor für Deutsche Geschichte im 20. Jahrhundert mit einem Schwerpunkt in der Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Seit 2014 ist er Vorsitzender des Trägervereins Clio-online e.V., zu dessen Angeboten auch das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte zählt. Außerdem ist er Mitherausgeber der Zeitschriften WerkstattGeschichte und Historische Anthropolgie. Für das Themenportal betreut er die Rubrik Krieg und Frieden.

 

Gruppe der geschäftsführenden HerausgeberInnen

Der Gruppe der geschäftsführenden HerausgeberInnen des Themenportals gehören folgende HerausgeberInnen an:

  • Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Hohls
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Metzler (Sprecherin)
  • Prof. Dr. Maren Möhring
  • Prof. Dr. Louis Pahlow
  • Prof. Dr. Iris Schröder

Ehemalige HerausgeberInnen des Themenportals Europäische Geschichte

Prof. Dr. Stefan Troebst

Stefan Troebst

Stefan Troebst war bis 2021 Professor für Kulturgeschichte des östlichen Europas an der Universität Leipzig und Leiter des Masterstudiengangs European Studies am Global and European Studies Institute. Zwischen 1999 und 2021 war er außerdem stellvertretender Leiter des Leibniz-Instituts für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Europa (GWZO). Er betreute für das Themenportal Europäische Geschichte die Rubrik Erinnerungskulturen in Europa.